Public Interest Law Society Student Chapter

Public Interest Law Society Student Chapter

What is The Public Interest Law Society?

Nova Southeastern University Law's Public Interest Law Society is a student-run organization founded in 1994 to promote public interest legal employment opportunities and to overcome the economic barriers that confront future public interest lawyers. The organization is also involved in a number of public service and law school projects including Canned Immunity (providing food for the needy), community service projects to help the needy, and the national public interest law conference held each October in Washington, D.C.


If you are interested in becoming a member, you may e-mail Nick Chiappetta at All students are invited to join.


The Public Interest Law Society's major fundraiser is the annual Auction held each Spring. The money raised by the Auction sponsors students who choose to take non-paying public interest positions during the summer. All non-graduating students are eligible to apply for these fellowships, which are awarded each year. The Public Interest Law Society is the ONLY student organization that gives all the money it raises back to the students. For more information you may email Bea Serrano at

Equal Justice Works

Learn more about Equal Justice Works (formerly the National Association for Public Interest Law), visit their homepage at

2014-2015 Board Members:

  Geoffrey Langbart President
  Anna Black Vice President
  Alexandra Brady Auction Chair
  Catherine Davis Community Outreach Director
  Sophia Mitchell Volunteer Director
  Jennifer Ortega Treasurer
  Kevin Sellar Assistant Treasurer
  Mariel Tollinchi Secretary
  Adam Benna 2L Representative
  Alexander Bekker 2L Representative
  Amanda Carbone 2L Representative
  Brittney Horton 2L Representative
  Janyl Relling 2L Representative
  Sandra Williams 2L Representative
  Antoinette Pollard 3L Representative
  Maria Santi 3L Representative
  Lauren Turner 3L Representative
  Layal Souwed Public Relations/Social Chair
  Larissa Salvador 1L Representative
  Maria Bueno 1L Representative

Faculty Advisor

  Michael Richmond Professor of Law

General Members

  • Michael Aranda
  • Phoebe Azran
  • Pedro Balderramos
  • Matthew Botkin
  • Sarah Butcher
  • Jacob Bynum
  • Humberto Caiaffa
  • Jalexis Camacho
  • Stephany Candamo
  • Alana Cano
  • Nicholas Chiappetta
  • Ajay Dabas
  • Maria Diaz
  • Ashley Dixon-Rolston
  • Suzanne Dycus
  • Beatrice Espady
  • Size Fleureme
  • Bradley Foster
  • Alexandra Fredericks
  • Ruby Garg
  • Tara Gelfant
  • Angela Gerig
  • Danielle Gittlin
  • Jessica Gomez
  • Daniel Gonzalez
  • Judith Gorin-Lewis
  • Mary Grecz
  • Christina Hero
  • Stephanie Herrmann
  • Jasmine Jas
  • Monica Jordan
  • Iris Kwon
  • Lindsay Lawrence
  • William Lawrence
  • Paul Lipof
  • Carisa Lippmann
  • Sara Mammarella
  • Richard Nelson
  • Shire Patel
  • Jennifer Patti
  • Jenna Ralston
  • Valerie Raphael
  • Landon Ray
  • Chrystal Robinson
  • Erika Rodriguez
  • Gal Rosenzweig
  • Nicholas Rubano
  • Aylin Ruiz
  • Samantha Seltzer
  • Bertha Serrano
  • Natasha St. Pierre
  • Meredith Story
  • John Taddeo
  • Adam Tannen
  • Lynn Taylor
  • Storm Tropea
  • Monica Vaks
  • Aidaelena Valdes
  • Christine Venezia
  • Theresa Wagner
  • Natalie Walkinshaw
  • Racheal Williams

Shepard Broad Law Center | 3305 College Avenue, Fort Lauderdale-Davie, Florida 33314-7796 | 800-986-6529
Copyright © 2015 Nova Southeastern University. All rights reserved.