Moot Court Society

Moot Court

Since its inception, the Moot Court Society has been one of the most prestigious and active societies of the Shepard Broad Law Center. Membership in the Society provides students with an opportunity to supplement their “book learning” with practical experience in appellate-level oral advocacy.

By participating in various tournaments, members of the Society apply their problem solving skills by writing an appellate brief on a specific problem and then arguing their case before a panel of judges. These skills are invaluable to anyone contemplating a career in litigation. The practical experience gained through Moot Court is also invaluable to student’s employment prospects since many employers seek out students who are members of the Society.

The first opportunity to become involved in the Moot Court Society occurs during second semester of a student’s first year of law school. Students that elect to participate will compete in the annual Feinrider First Year Competition. Students who are successful in this competition will become Candidates for Moot Court Membership. Additional opportunities to become a member will occur in the Fall semester each year and are open to second, third and fourth year students.  Students that elect to participate will compete in the annual Feinrider Upperclass Competition.  Students who are successful in this competition will be invited to become a member of the Moot Court Society.

Once a student becomes a member of the Society, they will have a chance to compete for a position on one of the Society’s traveling teams. The Society proudly sends teams each year to various competitions across the country.

Throughout the year, the Moot Court Society will invite you to attend our functions. We encourage you to watch our excellent advocates develop and refine their advocacy skills. Please email any of our Executive Board Officers if you have any questions.

2014 - 2015 Executive Board

2014-2015 Board Members:

  Ryan Knight Chief Justice
  Matthew Hinds Executive Justice for Competitions
  Brittany Henderson Executive Justice for Teams
  Heidi Mehaffey Executive Justice for Academics

Faculty Advisor

  Ronald Brown Professor of Law
  Shahabudeen Khan Assistant Professor of Law

General Members

  • Valeria Angelucci
  • Berkin Aslan
  • William Bromley
  • Gregory Cummings
  • Tori DeLeonardo
  • Ashley Ellis
  • David Fry
  • Scott Gershkow
  • Jake Goodman
  • Matthew Gottlieb
  • Mary Grecz
  • Novera Hamid
  • Daniel Ieraci
  • Joshua Lida
  • Ashleigh McKenzie
  • Elizabeth Mitchell
  • Bridget Modupe-Asekunowo
  • Jennifer Noud
  • Michael Pellegrino
  • Leslie Perez Perez
  • Khalil Quinan
  • Lyn Roman
  • Yineth Sanchez
  • Akash Shah
  • David Shaheen
  • Andrew Simon
  • Zarinah St Lawrence
  • Davalyn Suarez
  • John Taddeo
  • Lynn Taylor
  • Storm Tropea
  • Kirk True
  • Monica Vaks
  • Kerry Valdez
  • Brent Weiss
  • Amanda Winston
  • Eric Yesner

Shepard Broad Law Center | 3305 College Avenue, Fort Lauderdale-Davie, Florida 33314-7796 | 800-986-6529
Copyright © 2015 Nova Southeastern University. All rights reserved.