Elaine Papas
Main image from left to right: Professor of Law Bruce Rogow, NSU President George L. Hanbury, III, Ph.D, , U.S. Supreme Court Clerk of Court William K. Suter and Dean Athornia Steele.

Twenty-Two NSU Law Alumni Admitted to Practice before the Supreme Court of the United States

The Law Center sponsored its third biennial United States Supreme Court Admissions Ceremony on April 23 and 24, 2012.  Since 2008, the Law Center has organized a biennial trip to the Court for this memorable event. Twenty-two alumni traveled to Washington, DC to be admitted to practice before the Supreme Court of the United States.  NSU Law Center alumni stood before the nine justices of the Supreme Court and were sworn in to the bar of the highest court in the nation.  Applicants were members of the Bars of the states of Florida, Maryland, New Jersey, and North Carolina and were found to possess the necessary qualifications for admission. Candidates were met by the Clerk of the Supreme Court and escorted into the Courtroom where they were seated directly behind counsel table.  Law Center Professor Bruce Rogow moved the admission to the Bar and Chief Justice Roberts granted the motion.  The attorneys remained in the courtroom to watch oral arguments, which occurred on both days. Alumni were joined by NSU President George L. Hanbury, III, Ph.D, Dean Athornia Steele, Law Center’s Director of Development and Alumni Relations Doug Kruse and Elena Minicucci, respectively. 

On April 23, the Law Center and NSU’s Alumni Association hosted an evening of networking and camaraderie at the Liaison Capitol Hill Hotel for NSU Law alumni who were being admitted and their guests as well as for other NSU DC area alumni.  Over 75 people attended the reception.  Dean Steele told the group about new developments and initiatives at the Law Center while President Hanbury shared his vision for the University.  Then, Professor Bruce Rogow and Distinguished Visiting Professor Tim O’Brien led an informal discussion about how Supreme Court decisions affect our daily lives.  Professor Bruce Rogow has argued before the Supreme Court eleven times while Tim O’Brien, Esq., has covered the Court for ABC News and CNN. Their discussion was followed by a question and answer session.

The next alumni trip to the Supreme Court will be in 2014. 

Alumni sworn in included:

Ms. Huda Ajlani, ‘06

Mr. Angel Luis Arias, ‘04

Ms. Kelly Smith Arias, ‘05

Ms. Sonia Bortolin, ‘98

Mr. Stephen Dedmon, ‘98

Ms. Cheri Simkins Gardner, ‘00

Ms. Nicole Tamara Jones, ‘03

Ms. Jane Kerwin, ‘90

Mr. Jay Alan Koren, ‘78

Mr. Jason Macri, ‘04

Ms. Elena Rose Minicucci, ‘96

Ms. Camille Worsnop, ‘93

Ms. Michele Anne Biecker, ‘83

Ms. Jessica Garcia-Brown, ‘99

Mr. Adam Scott Goldberg, ‘95

Mr. Paul Jacobs, ‘02

Ms. Erin Kopelman, ‘06

Mr. Mark Kopelman, ‘07

Ms. Jule Kronhaus, ‘93

Mr. Rodney Rawls, ‘99

Mr. Dexter Romanez, ‘03

Ms. Tania Maria Williams, ‘02

Shepard Broad Law Center | 3305 College Avenue, Fort Lauderdale-Davie, Florida 33314-7796 | 800-986-6529
Copyright © 2015 Nova Southeastern University. All rights reserved.